Strawberries in Balsamic Caramel – Rethinking desserts

The Family Meal

7G9A1673

Since Olive started eating from the table, I’ve been 10x more mindful of what I serve for lunch and dinner.  I have re-thought the structure of a meal from the way we sit at the table to the kinds of  things we have for dessert.  Dessert is certainly not something that I grew up eating every night.  I’m not sure any of us did.  I think there are a couple reasons for this.  For one, American versions of desserts are really sweet and really indulgent, for the most part.  And usually really big.  So naturally, we don’t think of desserts as something you should have every night, which is inherently a good thing, but it’s caused us to view things like fruits in nearly the same category as vegetables: something we HAVE to eat, or are too expensive to eat, or aren’t very exciting to eat.  I think most people would feel…

View original post 684 more words

Leave a Reply

